Unboxing the Alienware 14

DSCF2553

Yes, I actually got one a year after it was released :3 But as a mac person who’s been using mid tier mac computers, the Alienware 14 is currently my most powerful rig.

It’s more powerful 13-inch brother was announced 3 days after I got my com, which is kinda annoying but, oh well. For those waiting to get a REAL portable alienware laptop, the wait is finally here 😀

Anyway, lets go to the unboxing part – more pics and less words!

August 7th - Woke up to this in my computer room

August 7th – Woke up to this in my computer room

First time seeing an alienware box

First time seeing an alienware box

Yup, spent 15 minutes taking pics of a box

Yup, spent 15 minutes taking pics of a box

Lots of foam padding

Lots of foam padding

Hello there, beautiful

Hello there, beautiful

Stuck for another 5 minutes here

Stuck for another 5 minutes here

Under the laptop

Under the laptop

Long-time alienware users would be disappointed if they look at these. They used to get a baseball cap, a mousepad, a leather-cased owner manual.

Welcome note, recovery disks, and quick guide. Good to know that alienware is the only Dell series that still comes with recovery disks.

Welcome note, recovery disks, and quick guide. Good to know that alienware is the only Dell series that still comes with recovery disks.

Alienware 14's big-ass power brick with Macbook Air's

Alienware 14’s big-ass power brick with Macbook Air’s

Front view

Front view

Side View - Left  Wow, a microphone jack, a headphone jack, and a headphone-with-microphone-jack!

Side View – Left
Wow, a microphone jack, a headphone jack, and a headphone-with-microphone-jack!

Side View - Right The slot-loading drive brings me back to good old days when most of Apple's laptop still have these (;

Side View – Right
The slot-loading CD drive brings me back to good old days when most of Apple’s laptops still have these (;

Bottom View

Bottom View

Rear View

Rear View

Some pictures with my Macbook Air

Front View

Front View

Side View - Left

Side View – Left

Side View - Right

Side View – Right

 Let’s boot it up

DSCF2564 resized

Glowing trackpad *_*

Glowing trackpad *_*

resized

The lighting design looks more refined from what its predecessors had. Rather than just being a gamer-centric laptop, it might actually present itself as a multimedia workhorse/companion for graphic designers or video editors

What Next?

In case you’re wondering what specifications did I get for my laptop. I chose the entry level model in the Singapore Online Store and upgraded what can’t be upgraded after my purchase, such as processor and graphics. I upgraded the RAM in-store too as it’s cheaper than buying a pair of 8Gb RAM on my own.

– Intel Core i7-4700MQ

– 1920 x1080 IPS Display

– 16 GB DDR3L (2x8Gb)

– 500 GB 5400RPM SSHD (8Gb SSD built-in)

– NVidia GeForce GTX 765M with 2Gb GDDR5

I didn’t upgrade the hard drive as I had already planned to replace it with SSD 🙂

On my next post, I’ll cover the upgrading process (with lots of pics too, of course!)

DSCF2530

Oh, the Alienware 14 also has an mSata Slot! Do utilise it 😀

 


Extra 

When purchasing a dell computer online, make sure to chat with a sales representative or call the hotline to get better pricing.

For those who noticed the 2nd box (on my 2nd picture). it’s a freebie from Dell.

Dell Urban 2.0 15.6'' Backpack

Dell Urban 2.0 15.6” Backpack

3 thoughts on “Unboxing the Alienware 14

Food For Thought :D

