Protein Shake for Breakfast – feat. ON Natural Oats and Whey

[Note: I do not have sponsors for my supplement so whatever I write here is likely to be void of any bias. I just use Optimum Nutrition a lot as unlike most supplement companies, they do not really advertise too much of their products using larger-than-life athletes/bodybuilders, which to me is like selling false hope to fitness enthusiasts. I would definitely post reviews about other brands in the future though, such as Gaspari’s IsoFusion and Dymatize’s ISO-100]

Like many fitness enthusiasts/gym goers, I drink my protein shake in the morning. It’s a great addition to your breakfast especially if you have a busy lifestyle and don’t have much time to prepare in the morning.

However, not all protein drinks are equal (in terms of absorption rate). Casein protein is the slowest and Hydrolysed Whey protein is the fastest. As I mentioned in my Supplements 101 post, I drink the platinum hydrowhey (hydrolysed whey) post-workout and the gold standard (mix of whey isolate and whey concentrate) in the morning as i would like to have slower-release proteins for breakfast.

I am aware that protein blend such as BSN Syntha-6 has a mix of whey and micellar casein that would provide the benefit of both fast and slow-digesting protein. However, I do not like the fact that they hide the proportion of whey isolate, whey concentrate and casein using their ‘proprietary’ blend (if you’re not lactose intolerant, natural milk might be a better choice). TruTein by Body Nutrition is one of the rare ones that are transparent with their blend ratio, but it is not widely available in Singapore. So for the time being I’ll stick the 100% whey by ON.

148B9155

So far the Caramel Toffee Fudge flavour is one of my favourites. The powder itself doesn’t smell that good, but mixed with water it’s really different. I’ve downed 2 tubs (2 lb and 5 lb) and would definitely get more  in the future. Still, I want to explore other flavours that ON has. While browsing through an online supplement store, I came across the 100% Natural Oats & Whey.

148B9149

I’ve heard about oats shake having more complex carbs and dietary fibre (which to me sounds awesome for my breakfast and a good alternative to conventional protein blends).

Unlike the 100% Natural Gold Standard Whey, the 100% Oats & Whey is more ‘natural’ when it comes to the sweetener. 100% Natural Whey has Rebaudioside A and a trademarked “Aminogen”, as pointed out by Scooby (the godfather of youtube fitness channels). 100% Natural Oats & Whey uses honey powder and evaporated cane juice powder (sounds yummy!)

oatsandwhey-facts

 

So in addition of a gold standard whey (mocha cappuccino), I got the Oats & Whey (milk chocolate). I usually get the 2 pounds when I’m trying a new flavour, in case it doesn’t taste really good it won’t be too painful to finish the whole tub.

148B9161

For this article I’ll be reviewing the Milk Chocolate Oats & Whey first, I’ll review the Mocha Cappucino Gold Standard in the near future 🙂

At 52g per serving, it’s is relatively higher than the average (for comparison, ON’s 100% whey has 31-33g, Dymatize Elite 100% Whey has 31-36g, Gaspari Myofusion has 37g, BSN Syntha-6 has 47-47.2g). You’ll notice this from the scoop that comes with the tub

148B9184

I’m planning to consume the Oats & Whey in the morning, but just this once I’ll drink it as a post-workout so that I can write about its taste.

148B9169

As usual, I add a small scoop of flavourless L-Glutamine to complement my post-workout protein powder.

148B9176

Mixability-wise, I do not see much difference from most protein drink. Some bubbling  and a very thin layer of foam is present, no problem for immediate consumption. Some of the oat grains will settle at the bottom

Taste-wise, it is relatively bland but impressive for the “Natural” series by ON. I’ve tried the Chocolate and Strawberry 100% Natural Gold Standard Whey some time in the past, and I feel that the milk chocolate Oats & Whey tastes better than the other 2.

148B9181

After the first drink, I’m strongly inclined to have this as my staple breakfast supplement. But I’ll probably still get the 100% Gold Natural from time to time whenever i get bored of the taste.

 

William

 

Food For Thought :D

